‘Healthy’ Homemade Pizzas!

Although I have made pizza before I have never actually made the dough – I would usually pick up a ready made base. Being someone who has eaten a lot…ALOT of pizza I believed I could do better!

I’ve never made any kind of dough before (other than cookie dough of course…mmmmm yeah… cookie dough) however I was convinced that this was going to be amazing.

For the dough:

  • 500g of strong wholemeal flour – the healthy option
  • 300ml of warm water
  • 7g of yeast

Note: I do not have scales therefore these are estimates

I mixed the water and yeast first, then made a well in the middle of the flour and poured it in. I brought the flour into the middle gradually and mixed… and mixed… and mixed. The I kneaded… and kneaded… and kneaded… and kneaded… and kneaded some more. I’ve seen the bake off, I knew kneading was a chore, but I kind of thought of myself as stronger than that… I am not! It’ll take roughly 15 minutes.

Once I had a nice soft dough I covered it over and left for 45 minutes with the expectation that it would double in size.

Whilst I waited for the dough to double – which I was quite excited about – we made the sauce.

For the sauce:

  • 2 tomatoes (cut the middle out and don’t use it)
  • a good squeeze of tomato puree
  • a cheeky little squeeze of tomato ketchup
  • red chilli – no seeds unless you like it hot
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • a heaped teaspoon of spicy italian spice

Just throw it all in a blender and whizz it up until smooth – easy peasy.

Toppings – chicken of course, pizza ain’t right without grilled chicken. Bacon makes everything amazing so throw some bacon on it. I’ve also recently rediscovered my love for sun-dried tomatoes so they’re in. Cheese – a must but not too much and finally veggies! Peppers and red onion (it is a ‘healthy’ pizza after all!).

Now to check the dough… ready to see the huge amount of dough. I looked under the tea towel and… nope, it did not double… it did not increase at all! I was slightly concerned but this did not deter me, this pizza would still be amazing.

The dough makes 4 pizzas so split it into 4 balls (you can freeze whatever you’re not using) and roll out into a pizza shape, or whatever shape you fancy. If you don’t have a rolling pin a wine bottle works just fine.

Once rolled nice and thin it’s time for assembly – the BEST part! Place your rolled out dough on a baking sheet ideally, but kitchen foil if you are like me and have never purchased baking sheets before. I would recommend a little flour on the kitchen foil to keep it from sticking (mine got a little stuck in the middle).

Layer on the sauce; now it should be thick, not watery. If it is watery start again – you have messed up – it will not work! Next add the sun-dried tomatoes, then peppers, red onion, bacon, chicken and last a sprinkling of cheese.

Cook for 7 – 12 minutes at gas mark 8 depending on how crispy you like your pizza. I like the edges a little crunchy.

Serve with a delicious garlic and herb dip – YUM!!

imag0182.jpg

Pizza Rating: 10/10 (of course!)

If you pizza did not quite live up to expectations I can recommend the Italian range at Dominos…

4 thoughts on “‘Healthy’ Homemade Pizzas!

  1. adventuredawg79 says:

    This looks delicious! I haven’t tried homemade pizza dough either but it looks like I “knead” to lol. Sorry, couldn’t help myself. I have to be silly on Mondays to make it through! Thanks, I may try this for dinner this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

